Minnesota's Paul Molitor, Arizona's Torey Lovullo named MLB Managers of the Year

Minnesota's Paul Molitor and Arizona's Torey Lovullo were named Major League Baseball's Managers of the Year on Tuesday night, via voting conducted by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Molitor, whose Twins improved from 59 wins in 2016 to 85 wins and a Wild Card berth in 2017, earned 18 first-place votes out of 30 ballots and 112 points overall to claim his first AL Manager of the Year Award in his third season as Minnesota's skipper.

Cleveland's Terry Francona (11 first-place votes, 90 total points) and Houston's A.J. Hinch (one first-place vote, 56 points), finished second and third, respectively, and former Yankees manager Joe Girardi was the only other skipper named on any of the 30 ballots, as he garnered a pair of second-place votes and six third-place nods.

In winning the AL hardware, Molitor becomes the second man to be elected to the Hall of Fame as a player and later win a Manager of the Year Award, following Frank Robinson, who was elected to the Hall in 1982 and won the 1989 AL Manager of the Year Award while with the Orioles.

Lovullo, who played 22 games with the Yankees in 1991, won the NL Award after his first season as a Major League manager, marking the seventh time overall and fourth year in a row that one of the Managers of the Year was a true freshman skipper. Lovullo earned 18 first-place votes and 111 points overall after leading the D-backs to 93 wins and a trip to the National League Division Series.

Dodgers skipper Dave Roberts, who won the NL Award in 2016, finished second this year, earning five first-place votes and 55 points overall, and Colorado's Bud Black (three first-place votes, 43 points) finished third to complete the NL West sweep of the finalist spots.

Milwaukee's Craig Counsell (three first-place votes, 33 points overall) finished fourth, since-fired Nationals skipper Dusty Baker (one first-place vote, 25 points) placed fifth, and Cubs manager Joe Maddon (one second-place vote) rounded out the balloting in sixth.

The placements of Girardi, Baker, and Maddon leaves ex-Red Sox manager John Farrell, who led Boston to the AL East title and a trip to the ALDS before being fired on October 11, as the only one of the 10 skippers who led their teams to the postseason that did not receive a Manager of the Year vote.