Corey Kluber, Max Scherzer bring home 2017 Cy Young Awards

Severino finishes third in AL Cy Young voting

Cleveland's Corey Kluber and Washington's Max Scherzer were named MLB's American League and National League Cy Young Award winners on Wednesday, via voting conducted by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Kluber, who also won in 2014, took 28 of 30 first-place votes and two second-place nods on the 30 ballots - gaining 204 of a possible 210 points - to become the 19th man to win multiple Cy Young Awards. Boston's Chris Sale was the runner-up, taking the remaining two first-place votes and 28 second-place votes to earn his highest career finish in Cy Young voting; he has been in the AL Top 6 in each of the last six years now, but his highest finish prior to 2017 had been a third-place showing behind Kluber and Felix Hernandez in 2014.

Young Yankees phenom Luis Severino finished third in the balloting with 73 points, garnering 20 third-place, six fourth-place, and one fifth-place vote. Cleveland's Carlos Carrasco finished fourth, with Tigers/Astros righty Justin Verlander fifth, Boston's Craig Kimbrel sixth, Minnesota's Ervin Santana seventh, and Toronto's Marcus Stroman eighth.

In the National League, Scherzer, who was already one of the other 18 prior to Kluber to win multiple awards, took 27 first-place votes and three second-place nods to earn his second straight NL Award and third overall (he also won the AL Award while with Detroit 2013).

Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw, himself a three-time winner, took the other three first-place nods and 25 of the remaining 27 second-place votes to finish second, marking his seventh straight finish in the Top 5. Stephen Strasburg, who took one of the two remaining second-place votes and 20 third-place nods, finished third, giving Washington a pair of righties in the top three, and Arizona's Zack Greinke, who took the last second-place nod and received the most third-place (15) and fourth-place (9) votes of any finisher, placed fourth.

Los Angeles' Kenley Jansen finished fifth and Washington's Gio Gonzalez finished sixth, giving the Dodgers and Nationals five of the top six finishers, and Arizona's Robbie Ray made it a top seven sweep for those two teams and the Diamondbacks.

Three other pitchers received votes, with the Mets' Jacob deGrom finishing eighth thanks to a pair of fifth-place votes, while Milwaukee's Jimmy Nelson and Los Angeles' Alex Wood each received one fifth-place vote to finish tied for ninth.

Unlike the Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year Awards, which each have three spots on their ballots, Cy Young Award ballots have five spots, with points awarded on a 7-4-3-2-1 scale. The MVP Awards, which will be awarded on Thursday, have 10 spots on the ballot.